Our weekend getaway to Sugar Bay

Traveling to a beach destination isn’t always my first choice in getaways since I live in Florida. However, when Wyndham invited me to visit their Sugar Bay Resort and Spa in St. Thomas, Virgin Islands, I gladly accepted.  Sugar Bay hosts many weddings and touts a full conference facility including one ballroom that seats 800 people. The best part of the entire resort is the spectacular view. This summer, Wyndham converted the resort to an all-inclusive property allowing guests to eat and drink, even alcohol, for one price.  As a parent, I love this part of not worrying about carrying cash or a credit card to pay for food and drinks. Whether we were on the beach or driving the Bumper Boats, I didn’t have to worry about my wallet getting wet or constantly checking to make sure I remembered to bring money.

On this trip, I traveled with my daughter so that I could review the resort from the perspective of a mother as well as an adult traveler.  What I found was a delightful surprise that even a beach-dwelling family from Florida could enjoy.

The view from my Sugar Bay beach chair

 

The Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort and Spa has everything, and I mean everything a family could want or need for a fun-filled vacation.  I am leaving out the word “relaxing” because there’s so much to do that one could find little time just sitting on a lounge chair with a “all inclusive” frozen fruit drink in hand unless you write it in the schedule.  My days were packed with activities with my daughter who couldn’t decide what to do first. Between the activity center, the spa, water activities and of course, the beach and pool, my daughter and I couldn’t decide what to do first, and we wanted to make sure to fit everything in to our weekend.

A complete game room with ping pong, bumper pool, complimentary popcorn, ice cream, snow cones and an assortment of board games was our first stop, then on to the Bumper Boats and Miniature golf.  Parents and children alike can enjoy these activities, as I admit that the Bumper Boats were a highlight for this mom. Think, fun, wet and full of laughs.  The miniature golf is like none that most have ever played, including Tiger Woods.  It’s not the difficulty or creativity of the course, but the 2 and 4 foot iguanas that call the golf course their home.  They are everywhere and as someone who HATES lizards, they added a bit of adventure to the golf game. My daughter won two games, but the fact that I had one eye on the iguanas didn’t help.

Another fabulous view from the Sugar Bay beach

As a mother/daughter trip, the beautiful fitness center and spa didn’t fit on the itinerary, but I certainly took time to look through the facility. Yoga classes are offered every day and the spa boasts a full menu of services. If tennis or basketball is your game, the resort had ample courts and equipment to use at the activity center.  Each day there was a published schedule of events and contests, much like a cruise.

The pool and beach area were beautiful, minus the occasional iguana.  My daughter found it difficult to decide between the volleyball pool, lagoon with waterfall pool or the hot tub.  We could also play pool and other games on the deck if we wanted a break from the water.  Unlike other resorts, there was no shortage of chairs or cabanas, which was welcoming.  For parents, its easy to let the children wander between the pool and beach and you don’t have to move every time someone changes activities throughout the day.

We perched ourselves on the beach and it was close enough for my daughter to safely swim in the pool while I remained in the sand.  The beach is secluded with a wonderful view.  The clear water allows for snorkeling and each morning the Resort offers complimentary snorkeling lessons.  I would pack your own mask and snorkel along with a pair of water shoes as the beach is a bit rocky in places.  The snorkel and mask will save you on rental fees particularly if you take the ferry over to Trunk Bay on St. Johns for the day.  (I’ll tell you about that in a minute.)

Since Sugar Bay is all-inclusive, all meals, snacks and drinks are included.  You won’t go hungry and you won’t have to go off your diet either (if you choose to behave throughout the vacation).  Every meal has healthy options like grilled fish, egg white omelets, fruit and grilled veggies.  The kitchen is very accommodating to picky kids who want chicken fingers over grilled conch or jerked pork.  You can even order take out and let the kids eat in the room while you have an upscale Italian dinner in their Reservations Only restaurant.

Mini golf course with an iguana big enough to drive a golf cart

 

For parents who need a break, they have a Kid’s club that looks like serious fun. It was closed for the off-season when we visited so I was unable to see it in operation. However, based on the experience with everything else, it’s surely a winner.

If you’d like to go Island hopping for the day, St. Johns is just 15 minutes away by ferry and well worth the $6 adult, $1 child fare. The island has a large National Park that includes one of the most beautiful beaches I’ve ever seen.  It’s called Trunk Bay and is a $6 cab fare from the ferry.  Arrive early as it fills up with tourists as the day goes on. We arrived at 10am and were the only people on the beach other than the lifeguard.  There is an underwater trail for snorkeling.

Whether you live on the coast or in the mountains, you’ll love Wyndham’s Sugar Bay Resort. If you beach-going family enjoyed it, yours will too! For information, check out http://www.wyndham.com or the Sugar Bay Resort & Spa page at http://www.sugarbaywyndham.com.

Disclosure: Wyndham provided complimentary accommodations for the weekend for my daughter and me. The opinions are my own

One Response

  1. Very pretty! I love the Virgin Islands.

Leave a Reply

