Social Media Moms Celebrate at Disney

Disney’s special touch made the Social Media Moms Celebration an event to remember. Last weekend, more than 150 moms (some with families, some without ) gathered in Walt Disney World to socialize, network and learn at the Social Media Moms Celebration.  With an impressive list of speakers, activities and entertainment, the conference offered the right mix of information and fun against the backdrop of the Magic Kingdom and Epcot. From across the country and Canada, old friends gathered and new friends met for a 3-day event focused on social media technology and trends. My friends Amy Bair (@resourcefulmom), Susan and Janice (@5 Minutes for Mom), and Jennifer James (@mombloggersclub) co-hosted the event.

Social Media Moms Fiona Bryan (@banteringblonde), Shellie Ross (@military_mom) and Daisy Sutherland (@drmommy) enjoy sessions at Epcot.

Maria Bailey (@MomTalkRadio) and Amy Oztan (@selfishmom)

I experienced delayed gratification firsthand as I was snowbound in Chicago for the first day of the conference. The Tweets were flying fast as attendees checked in to the Polynesian Resort and the anticipation started building for all of the events on the schedule. My anticipation mixed with anxiety as I called every airline, multiple times, to make sure I had a seat on one of the first flights out of snow-covered O’Hare.  I made it home and drove back north to Orlando for Thursday’s opening session with Guy Kawasaki (alltop.com). Talk about pushing the social media envelope, Kawasaki has 200K plus followers, considers Twitter a social media weapon and isn’t afraid to use it!

Kathy Ireland, CEO of Kathy Ireland Worldwide, speaks at Friday session.

Maria Bailey (@momtalkradio) chats with special guests Marissa Jaret Winokur and Maxine Clark (@ChiefExecBear) between sessions at Social Media Moms Celebration

Leading Friday’s list of impressive speakers was my friend, Maxine Clark (CEO, Build-A-Bear Workshop), who inspired everyone in the room with her motivational story of building a successful business and making dreams, big or small, come true. Kathy Ireland, former model and now the CEO of Kathy Ireland Worldwide, talked about her success stemming from breaking stereotypes she’d run into from an early age. Tony-award winning actress and TV start Marissa Jaret Winokur entertained and inspired us with her stories of career dedication and adventures in motherhood.

Chris Brogan, author and social media veteran, rounded out the ‘serious’ part of the sessions. Judging by the laptops keys clicking away, Brogan offered a wealth of ideas and was quite funny! I’ve heard Chris speak at other events and his session lived up to prior experience.

To end the day on a lighter note, Maryellen Hooper had the crowd laughing out loud at her stories of love, courting, marriage and children. And as any comedian likes to do,Maryellen used the audience to provide material, with yours truly caught in the spotlight. Of course, while I’m tweeting about the show and with my friends at the conference, she calls on me…twice! I’m supposed to remember how many years I’ve been married? I was busy tweeting…that’s my excuse!

The evening party at Hollywood Studios was a nice way to close out the conference, especially as one of my daughters joined me for the event. I was able to treat her to an early birthday present; just her and I enjoying the Magic Kingdom on Saturday where she had me all to herself (or maybe it was the other way around!)

Maria Bailey and Disney's Laura Spencer

Special thanks to Leanne Jakubowski,Laura Spencer and all the Disney Cast and Crew for organizing a terrific event.

(Disney provided rooms, meals and park tickets for me and my team as part of the conference package, at a reduced rate.)

One Response

  1. This was truly an event to remember! Thanks to all who made it possible.

    Hugs,
    Maxine

Leave a Reply

