What’s On Your Holiday Menu?

Thanks to all of you for leaving great comments about the green bean recipe and your own food traditions! I started to leave comments to all of you, but in the interest of time, I’ll let you all know that you will get a cookbook and coupon. (I have to make one more stop today!). I may still ask for some recipes! Thanks, and Happy Holidays!

This week is going to go fast with only four days until Christmas. As I’ve been posting tips and recipes from celebrity chef Bobby Flay and Hellmann’s/Best Foods, I’ve been following Flay’s advice to make a shopping list that will make my trip to the grocery store easier (and hopefully it will only be one trip)! The list is getting longer every day, and just today I realized I needed to add another side dish or two and an appetizer.

So I flipped through the “Real Holiday Helpings” cookbook and found two great recipes: one for Roasted Green Beans with Almond Aioli, and the other for chicken wings with a creamy maple dipping sauce. I’ve included the recipes for you here. What is your favorite holiday dish? The one that you’ve recently discovered, or the one that brings back holiday memories? I’d love to hear from you. The first 10 friends to leave a comment will receive a “Real Holiday Helpings” cookbook and one coupon for a free, 30-0z. jar of Hellmann’s mayonnaise.

Roasted Green Beans with Almond Aioli

Serves: 4

½ cup toasted slivered almonds,

2 cloves finely chopped garlic

2 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

½ cup Hellmann’s® Real Mayonnaise

1 pound fresh green beans or asparagus, trimmed

2 tablespoons olive oil

Salt and freshly ground black pepper

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

2. Combine ¼ cup of almonds, garlic, lemon juice and mayonnaise in a food processor and process until smooth, season with salt and pepper. Scrape into a bowl.  Aioli can be made 4 hours in advance and refrigerated.  Bring to room temperature before serving.

2. Place the green beans in a medium roasting pan or on a baking sheet, toss with the oil and season with salt and pepper.  Roast the beans, turning once, until lightly golden brown and just cooked through, about 15 minutes. Transfer the green beans to a platter and drizzle with the aioli and garnish with remaining slivered almonds.

Baked Horseradish Glazed Chicken Wings with Creamy Maple Dipping Sauce

Serves: 4

½ cup pure maple syrup

1 heaping tablespoon prepared horseradish

1 heaping tablespoon Dijon mustard

2 teaspoons ancho chile powder or good quality chili powder

1 cup Hellmann’s® Real Mayonnaise

Salt and freshly ground black pepper

20 chicken wings

Canola oil

1. Whisk together the maple syrup, horseradish, mustard and chile powder in a bowl.  Remove ¼ cup of the mixture and place in another bowl, add the mayonnaise, whisk until combined and season with salt and pepper.  Cover and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

2. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.  Place the chicken wings on a large baking sheet, toss with a few tablespoons of oil and season with salt and pepper.  Bake in the oven, turning a few times until golden brown, about 30 minutes.  Carefully remove the wings from the oven brush with the maple glaze. Return to the oven and continue baking until just cooked through about 20 minutes longer.  Serve with the maple mayonnaise dipping sauce on the side.

Tip: Sauce is also terrific on wraps and sandwiches, assorted fresh vegetables, on steamed broccoli or asparagus and over oven-roasted potatoes.

28 Responses

  1. I LOVE that recipe! Sounds delicious!

  2. This meal looks great would love to have the book. THanks Joyce

  3. The Roasted Green Bean With Almond Aioli recipe sounds delicious!

  4. Wow those sure do look delicious.

  5. Pecan pie was my favorite growing up. My grandma made it from scratch.

  6. Great post! That recipe looks so delicious. I might give it a try!

  7. I love green beans!! Excellent review!!

  8. His tips are great and Hellman’s has always been the only mayo for me!

  9. I’ve recently discovered pumpkin pancakes. So yummy and delicious on cold winter mornings!

  10. how awesome im your friend on twitter morgaine24 those green beans look yummy

  11. I’d love a “Real Holiday Helpings Cookbook”, it would be nice to try new recipes during the Holiday Season!

    Thanks.

  12. I want to try this recipe. Love Hellman’s and that looks delicious. Happy Holidays to everyone.

  13. I love to eat Ham and scalloped potatoes for the holidays! Such a perfect comfort food to eat with your loved ones!!

  14. Forgot to add! My favorite holiday dish is still my grandma’s stuffing turkey and cranberry sauce. A slice of strawberry rhubarb pie too!

  15. My favorite dishes are usually the desserts my mom made every Christmas. It’s not Christmas without mom’s peanut butter cookies and her fudge. (Incidentally, I made the peanut butter cookies this year, but didn’t have the nerve to try the fudge.)
    If we’re talking non dessert, I’d have to say homemade Mac and Cheese.

  16. I’ll be serving green beans, mashed taters and turkey and dressing!

  17. Honey glazed ham and sweet potatoes is my favorite meal to eat with my family for the holiday!

  18. Holiday dishes are my favorite. My grandmother passed down the most delicious stuffing recipe. My mom also makes her special sweet potato soufle almost every holiday. I also really love homemade pot roast.

  19. My favorite holiday dish is twice baked potatoes…with cream cheese, sour cream and butter! Yummmm!!!

  20. My mom’s casserole was always my favorite non-dessert food. (Dad’s fudge has dessert wrapped up!) My mom was always so decent at really mincing her vegetables which made her casserole more delectable than those cooked by women who left huge chunks of vegetables in them that were always undercooked.

  21. We had this green bean dish for Thanksgiving. They were great. I have roasted asaragus before, but never thought of doing green beans. The aioli sauce gave it great flavor. If you’re still deciding on an appetizer, I also made the Hot Italian Cheese Toast for Thanksgiving and it is fantastic! Love the recipes in the Hellmann’s “Real Holiday Helpings” cookbook. I already have the cookbook, but wanted to leave a comment because everything I’ve made from it has been fairly easy and really good. Just wanted to share.

  22. It’s not Christmas morning for us without Blueberry muffins! For Christmas lunch or dinner, the side dishes that are always present are Green Bean Casserole and Sweet Potato Souffle w/ pecan topping. Yum!

  23. Roasted spicy potatoes~

  24. Great idea this. It is always difficult to thin of varied things to cook especially for a hungry family and some of the ideas here and elsewhere on your site have given me some great ideas so thak you!

  25. Hello there. Appreciate your site. I visit it regularly to read the latest info. Extremely helpful entry.

Leave a Reply

