Black Friday Doesn’t Make Me Blue…

It’s hard to believe that Thanksgiving is only 3 days away. While our house prepares for the Feast of Thanksgiving, I’m also preparing something else…my Holiday Shopping List!

Yes, you guessed it. I’m one of the Black Friday shoppers ready to divide and conquer to get my holiday gift shopping done before December 1st . This surprised Mary, my newest team member, when we talked last week about holiday gifts and shopping. While Mary thought I wouldn’t do the “crowds” at the big retailers, I gladly admitted that I am one of those people who get up at the crack of dawn to hit the stores and find the best deals on the busiest shopping day of the year. This didn’t surprise Amy, my “right-hand” team member, who correctly commented that it’s no big deal for me to be shopping that early as I’m up at sunrise anyway starting my day with a 10-mile run.

So after my run and while the rest of my clan is still recovering from their Tryptophan-induced food lethargy, I’m heading out to 2 or 3 stores armed with a detailed shopping list, lots of coupons and sale circulars. I’ll be back home, with my holiday shopping finished, before the kids are out of their jammies.

My annual shopping excursion makes my family, especially my mother-in-law, crazy as I usually get all of my shopping done and out of the way. Armed with my list, I knock out the gift shopping with surgical precision, down to every person who will be at our house on Christmas, and even those last-minute Secret Santa and teacher gifts, gifts for the kids’ friends, school and church charity toy drives.

What about you? Are you up with the birds with your nose pressed to the glass of your local retailer, waiting for the doors to open at 5 a.m.? Or will you be home relaxing and enjoying your day off in front the TV watching all those great college football games?! Wherever you are on Black Friday, I hope you have a Happy Thanksgiving.

4 Responses

  1. Maria-I’m a Black Friday shopper too! My dad and I head out at 4:30am and leave everyone else sleeping. Have a Happy Thanksgiving and a fruitful Black Friday!

  2. I just wanted to thank you very much for this informative article. I have already bookmarked your site, when I have more free time I am going to have to do some further browsing. Well back to my dreaming of Panama or back to the books – I wonder which one is going to win out. 🙂

  3. Was never a Black Friday shopper myself until this year, when my 6yo wanted to join me (and she’s always up at the crack of dawn anyhow!). We had a blast together, and accomplished a lot as well!

  4. I have to admit that I have rarely gone shopping on Black Friday. In the past, I have had 90% of my shopping done right after Christmas into January for the following year – taking advantage of all those after Christmas sales! I am not so much on the ball in the past few years.

    Sounds like you are one successful Black Friday shopper though. Way to go!

Leave a Reply

