Running to your favorite songs

Last week marked the start of “race season”, and no, I don’t mean Nascar. It’s marathon time for me and last week’s Miami Beach Half Marathon was the first of many races I will compete in this year.  At 13.1 miles, this number will soon become my average distance.  So what does race season mean? It means between this week and March 15th, I will run 3 full marathons (26.2 miles each) and 3 half marathons (13.1 miles each).  If my math is right, that’s over 115 miles in race miles but also includes over 200 miles in training miles.  That’s a lot of time running.  One foot in front of the other.  Run, run, run.  maria marathon1

Running, however, is my sanity.  I love to run. I like the solitude of running. When you are a mom of 4, running 13 + miles is the only way to get alone time.  I love to run and I love to listen to my ipod along the way.  Do you know how many songs one listens to during  a 13-mile run?  72 or more. No matter how many songs on your playlist, the songs seem to replay numerous times.   All of this leads me to an idea I had during the Miami Beach Half Marathon.

Why not ask my Twitter friends and mom friends to compile a play list for me for the upcoming race season? I can listen to your songs and think about our friendship along the way!  So I’m asking you for a favor. Please submit your favorite song or one that you would think would be fun for running in the comment area of my blog.  I’ll download each song and think of you on the way to the finishline.  I’ll also publish my friends’ playlists in a future blog.

maria marathon

I’m looking forward to your suggestions. I know I’ll get some great ones that will help me keep running and running and running……

9 Responses

  1. WOW, that is a lot of running and truly amazing! Awesome! I just ran my first half marathon and can’t wait for my next one. It was exhilerating, inspriring and empowering!
    I like a lot of cheezy pop and hip hop songs to get me going on my runs: Black Eyed Peas – “I Gotta Feeling”; Michael Franti w/Spearhead “Say Hey (I Love You), “When I Grow Up”; & Pink “So What” are some of my faves. Good luck!

  2. Congratulations Maria! Great work! And best to you this season!

    Here are a couple of my favorites from my one and only Marathon – Marine Corps DC 2006 – Flashdance … What A Feeling by Irene Cara; Lady, Lady, Lady by Joe Esposito… really the whole Flashdance Sound Track is awesome for running! It’s one go back to often!

    Recently, per Lance Armstrong, “Everybody’s Changing” by Keane. Enjly!

  3. I love “Home” by Chris Daughtry!

  4. Maria you’re my hero. I like to work out to 80s music. Particularly Depeche Mode.

  5. Hope this doesn’t sound too weird, but I tended to listen to soundtracks when I walked. Not that I did anything like your amazing 13 miles!

    In my iPod there is Indiana Jones, Star Wars, Superman, and Mission Impossible. Obviously, my husband and I like John Williams.

    Another genre I like is more of the Broadway style – Amigos Para Siempre with Sarah Brightman and Jose Carreras [it was the olympic theme]. I even have some songs from Yanni Voices in my iPod.

    What can I say? I have different tastes. 🙂

  6. You can’t go wrong with anything from Sugarland. Oh, you probably want a title, right? I’ll be right back…who knew there were so many sites listing Sugarland song titles. I listen to the latest CD in the car, but I don’t have the CD case any more. I think you might like “Nightswimming/Joey.” Some Sugarland songs are a bit depressing and melancholy for a run — I’m guessing you don’t want to be sobbing while running, so… “Nightswimming” is somewhat peppy. Let me know if it makes you run faster.

  7. SugarLand’s All I want to do and It Happens are two that come to mind. Our Song by Taylor Swift is another peppy song.

    I don’t think I could ever run a marathon but I have been thinking about starting to walk, jog, and then run. Like you with 4 kids, I never have a moment to myself.

  8. warm-hearted answers i like it

Leave a Reply

