Promise Yourself A Better Night’s Sleep

There are a lot of things that keep me up at night. It’s just the way it is when you are mom. Last night, I was met in the middle of the night by our black lab who was accidently left out of his cage. The night before it was a teenager playing video games. The night before that, it was my daughter yelling at her rabbit who apparently is nocturnal. Who knew rabbits were nocturnal?

Yes, moms get little sleep but we learn to deal with it. Truthfully, the one thing that keeps me up at night most often is the thought of sending my four children to college and paying for it. I had the best intentions when they were born to stock away a few dollars every week. I did okay for the first three months but somehow something always got in the way- new tennis shoes, extra diapers, formula, private school tuition. Just the other day I looked at my college accounts and realized that if I divided the contributions over the last 15 years of good intentions, I saved less than $1 a day.

I tell you this story as a warning to young moms who are currently swaddling a baby or mothers of toddlers who think 18 years is a long way off. Save. Save whatever you can because college is just around the corner. In just three short years, my first two teenagers will be off to a university system that today announced 15% tuition hikes. Ouch! Even with my Florida College Prepaid programs, we will still be short of the new tuition.

I hang my head that there are many things I didn’t do to prepare for college but I did do one thing that created a bright light for our family. I enrolled in Upromise ten years ago. If you don’t know about Upromise you need to click over right now and learn about it. Basically, you register your credit cards and every time you spend money on normal everyday purchases, you earn money into your college account. I received $150 last year when we purchased our new car. It doesn’t sound like much, but I am sure $150 is the price of a biology book or a few math workbooks. Every cent counts and Upromise has allowed me to save even when I wasn’t thinking about it.

Now Upromise is giving away big money tuitions in a promotion called Tuition-Tales. All you have to do is videotape your plea for tuition and upload it to the
site. The best videos win. It’s that easy.

Moms have enough outside disruptions to a good night sleep, and now college tuition doesn’t have to be one of them. Visit Upromise.com today and sleep better tonight.

Leave a Reply

