My Secret Passion

We all have a secret passion in life that we learn so much about that we could become a self-proclaimed expert, but we choose to keep our interest to ourselves. Those who know me have probably figured out that I have a passion for fitness. I’m currently training for my 18th marathon with number 19 right behind it in mid-February. My passion has served me well although it’s been somewhat inconsistent at times. Yesterday I sat with two of my college sorority sisters (Alpha Chi Omega for those who care to know) and browsed through old picture albums. The pages were cracked and yellowed. Each page revealed one of us in our 20 years earlier body and way too big hair. As we marveled at the waistlines of my sisters, I was fortunate to discover that I’ve actually lost weight and body fat since college. I know it might not seem possible to some, but my eating and exercising habits have improved since the days when we dipped pizza into Ranch dressing for added flavor (and fat!). I am not sure when I gained an appreciation for fitness but I can safely say on Jan 5, 2009, that I’m in the best physical condition I’ve been in my entire 44 year life. It not only feels good, it feels empowering. I realize that not everyone can share in my excitement but instead have made a New Year’s resolution to soon join me in feeling fit. For those of you trying to find your way to fitness or others who just want to mix it up a bit, I’ve decided to review a few the latest fitness DVDs and books on the market. I’m excited because it allows me to follow my passion while helping you find the best solution to your goals.

Skinny Bitch– The Book: I asked Santa to send me a copy so I could see what all the buzz was about. Well it took me all of 3 hours to read it. Fitness and a healthy lifestyle can be fun and fulfilling. It’s doesn’t need to be delivered using profanity and scare tactics. We all have different theories on protein consumption, eating “flesh” and conscious consumption but the way these authors approach it, well, lost my respect on page 3. I haven’t eaten a piece of red meat since 1986 but I can tell you it wasn’t until I added poultry and fish into my diet in 1993 that I was able to lose weight. Do I like the way these animals are raised? No, but I also know that I can’t get enough protein without this source.

Skinny Bitch Fitness DVD: I think my opinion was already tainted by the time I used the DVD. I understand marketing and I understand building a business from a tricky title but I prefer to follow someone who enjoys sharing their passion with me…..not thrusting it down my throat.

Making The Cut by Jillian Michaels: I bought this book for myself. I’ve never really watched “The Biggest Loser” and knew nothing about the author. I just liked the title and the promise to maximize my workouts. I have to say that I’ve been studying this book like a bible. It’s great! I’ve never had anyone explain healthy eating and exercise like Jillian. I decided to follow her 30 day workout. I thought I was in good shape already but “oh, my!” I thought I would die during my first Circuit workout! It’s great and I can’t imagine that I won’t see results on this workout regime. I’ll tell you in 30 days.

ABS of STEEL and BUNS of STEEL DVDs: They promise firmer body parts in just 4 weeks. The workouts are just challenging enough to make it believable. I really liked the exercises and would recommend the DVDs.

While I’m writing about Fitness, I am proud to announce that I’m working with Fitness Magazine to coach a reader to a 50 pound weight loss. She is in month 1 and has already lost 10 pounds and inches. I’m very proud of her and can’t wait for her “Before and After” spread in the April issue of Fitness. Stay tuned for more.

One Response

  1. I’m thinking of doing a product guide for health & fitness coming in =
    like March. What do you think? I’m going to use your write-ups in it.=20

Leave a Reply

