The Teenage Years

<p class=3D”MsoNormal”><span style=3D”font-size: 10pt; =
font-family: &quot;Arial&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;; =
color: black;”>I declared myself the =E2=80=9Cold=E2=80=9D
of blogging a long time ago. Not because I’ve been blogging a long time. =
but
because my children are so much older than the rest of my blogging =
friends like
<a href=3D”http://www.adventuresinbabywearing.com/”>adventures in =
babywearing</a>,
<a href=3D”http://www.5minutesformom.com/”>5 Minutes For =
Mom</a> and <a href=3D”http://www.designmom.com/”>Design =
Mom</a>.&nbsp; I have three teenagers
and a tween which means my challenges are of a different size and nature =
than
my dear friends. I remember when I had three babies under two years of =
age and
a mom of teenagers told me parenting only got more difficult once they =
hit
13.&nbsp; I secretly thought she was crazy. After all, I had three =
babies under
20 months, none of which slept through the night at the point.&nbsp; =
I am here
to say, she was right. The teenage years are a whole new ballgame of =
hormone-crazed,
non-intelligent stunt-seeking, sexually-confused challenges produced by
children that you once recognized as your own.&nbsp; Now, don’t get =
me wrong.
My teenagers are great kids. They make straight A’s, still kiss me =
goodnight
and actually have me listed as a Friend on their MySpace =
pages.&nbsp; It’s just
the fear that having teenagers strikes in you that causes so much =
anxiety.=20
I know. I was a teenager once. I remember all the things I did and I’m =
praying
night and day that my kids didn’t inherit that gene.&nbsp; The gene =
that makes
you think it’s okay to organize a sleep-in at your high school in tents =
on the
football field. Yes, that was my idea. One that the nuns didn’t really =
take a liking
to!&nbsp; The gene that forces you to crawl into your boyfriend’s =
bedroom window
at 5am. The gene that makes you think you are invincible! I think it’s =
too late
with one of my teenagers. He announced today that he has organized a =
strike
among the students against the rising price of chips and chicken nuggets =
at
school. So with the help of social media, cell phones and text messages, =
he’s
convinced over 100 students to bring their lunch to school next =
Wednesday and
boycott buying chips and nuggets.&nbsp; A protest against 25 cent =
rise in chip
prices.&nbsp; That’s my son!&nbsp; The apple doesn’t fall from =
the tree. See
where the problems begin?&nbsp; =
</span><o:p></o:p></p>
<p class=3D”MsoNormal”><span style=3D”font-size: 10pt; =
font-family: &quot;Arial&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;; =
color: black;”>Actually, tonight is
where it starts. I’m hosting my first teenage party at our house. It’s =
my
daughter’s 15th birthday and I suggested she have a few girls over
for pizza. Apparently =E2=80=9Cfew=E2=80=9D has many meanings. Tonight =
it means
somewhere between 30 and 40 depending upon the latest updates on party
crashers.&nbsp; Needless to say my pizza order has jumped =
considerably since I
placed it at noon.&nbsp; I have to admit, I=E2=80=99m =
terrified.&nbsp; The
last party we had here ended with a broken nose in our pool and that was
when this same group of kids were still in middle school.&nbsp; I’m
famous for the injuries kids incur while in my care.&nbsp; So far =
I’m good
for a broken shoulder compliments of our trampoline, a broken nose in =
the
pool thanks to jumping without looking and stitches to the head thanks =
to
an ice skate blade. What? You thought I lived in Florida?&nbsp; I =
do!
Go figure, a Floridian mom takes a group of third graders to an ice
skating rink and ends up with a bloody child in her arms on the
ice.&nbsp; Now you understand, history is bound to repeat itself now =
that
these same children are invincible teenagers under my care. =
</span><o:p></o:p></p>
<p class=3D”MsoNormal”>&nbsp;<span style=3D”font-size: =
10pt; font-family: =
&quot;Arial&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;;”>What’s =
interesting about the few
girls over for pizza is that half the group playing football in the =
street
right now are boys.&nbsp; Apparently my daughter learned quickly =
that
if she wanted boys at her party, it’s best to allow your brother to =
invite a
few of his friends too.&nbsp; It’s the oldest trick in the book. Use =
your
high school brother to help you attract boys. She has a built in =
wing-man!=20
Ten o’clock isn’t going to come soon enough.&nbsp; =
</span><o:p></o:p></p>
<p class=3D”MsoNormal”> <o:p></o:p><span =
style=3D”font-size: 10pt; font-family: =
&quot;Arial&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;;”>My plan is =
to chronicle
the sequence of event right here in my blog. My strategy is to help
inform moms who are currently holding their swaddled babies in their =
arms
to know&nbsp; what’s ahead on the road of motherhood.&nbsp; Hold =
on
to the wheel- it’s a heck of a ride.</span> =
<o:p></o:p></p>
<p class=3D”MsoNormal”><o:p>&nbsp;</o:p></p>

3 Responses

  1. Oh, I’ve been there. I feel for ya! Looking forward to the coverage.

  2. Oh my gosh you are giving me chills. Do I want to know!? And your kids =
    sound awesome. I’ll still be running to you in about 6 years or so when =
    I have a teenager!
    Steph

  3. Wow, sounds like a lot of work. I’ve been there, though I have not =
    gotten a bloody nose or anything in the process lol! Just a tip, with =
    all that your going through with these kids…have your hubby buy you =
    something nice.=20
    I recently had to handle my 4 kids all weekend without him and when he =
    returned he surprised with a diamond necklace that I chose from =
    http://www.idonowidont.com which was nice. He said it was a present for =
    handling the kids all weekend while he was gone.
    So I suggest you tell your hubby to go to that site and pick you out =
    something nice!
    Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

