Planning for Summer

I think summers can be the most stressful time of the year for a working mother. The struggle to balance work and family is taken up a notch when your kids’ schedules become irregular and unpredictable. Somehow every Spring, I fall guilty to thinking my kids need a break from activites when the school bell rings for summer. One year I actually convinced myself, with the help of my tweens, that it was okay not to have the summer filled with camps. Halfway through the first week, I knew I had made a mistake. It took me the rest of the summer to convince my children that I was not a camp director and that work enabled us to afford their favorite cereals. It is for this reason that I constantly warn fellow bluesuitmoms of the approach of summer. Now is the time to start the file of stand-by activities for the inevitable, “Mom, I’m bored.” But it’s not only finding fun past times for our kids, it’s being able to fund them as well. This is why when I got a press release from AMC today in my email box, I decided to share it with you. AMC Theatres will, for the 38th year, offer $1 weekly movies for kids this summer. They’ve released the list of titles and it looks like at least one day a week might finally be filled! Hope this great find helps you out. Feel free to add some of your favorite, “keep the kids busy ideas” here!

June 25: “Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium” (G)

July 2: “The Water Horse: Legend of the Deep” (PG)

July 9: “Alvin & The Chipmunks” (PG)

July 16: “Shrek The Third” (PG)Fee

July 23: “Bee Movie” (PG)

July 30: “Surf’s Up” (PG)

August 6: “TMNT” (PG)

3 Responses

  1. There is a good post on my blog today about summer childcare as well. =
    For more info, see =
    http://brandichambless.blogspot.com/2008/04/no-school-no-problem-hot-tips=
    -for.html. It is good advice from my friend Monta Fleming, founder of =
    http://www.gonannies.com who is a working Mom herself.=20

  2. Hi,
    I am new to these field and I found that credit card is also helpful in =
    holiday trip because if someone wants to buy some fantastic things =
    he|she can buy.Don’t be a victim. Stop credit card debt now. We can =
    help.=20
    Regards
    Gautam
    http://widecircles.com
    http://www.stop-credit-card-debt.com=20

  3. Thanks for sharing the cheap movie idea! You said feel free to share any =
    other kid activity ideas. I just wanted to let you know I write a =
    Seasonal Kids’ Activities blog with lots of ideas for parents trying to =
    balance work and family at http://www.sparkplugging.com/kids-activities/

Leave a Reply

